Categories: Gambling

The Sidney Prize and the Hillman Awards

The Sydney Prize is an impressive award that honors individuals making a difference in society through their writing or science. The prize highlights these efforts while encouraging others to join them in making our planet a better place. The Sydney Prize is given annually on a national basis.

Winners receive a $5,000 prize and publication in Overland magazine. This year’s judges were Laura Elvery, Paige Clark and Michael Winkler.

Established in 1998 by a donation from Professor Keith Campbell, this prize is awarded on the recommendation of the Head of the School of Philosophy, following the November Examiners’ Meeting to the postgraduate student who submits an essay in metaphysics or epistemology judged to be the most meritorious. The prize is intended to encourage the study of these two subjects, and to stimulate interest in contemporary philosophical problems.

The Stuart Rosewarne Prize for Political Economy reflects the commitment of its founder, Professor Stuart Rosewarne to publicly-engaged research addressing systemic processes of social exclusion and resistance. The prize recognises the important contribution that this kind of work can make to progressive politics and public life, in particular by examining how class, race, gender and the environment shape everyday life.

Named for the American philosopher in whose memory Phi Beta Kappa awards this national distinction, the Sidney Hook Memorial Award recognizes promise in three endeavors – scholarship, undergraduate teaching and leadership in the cause of liberal arts education. It is awarded to a Phi Beta Kappa scholar who exhibits excellence in these areas and is honored at the Society’s Triennial Council.

Since 1950, the Hillman Foundation has honored journalists “who pursue investigative reporting and deep storytelling in service of the public good.” The award selection committee chooses a journalist who exemplifies reportorial excellence and storytelling skill, and who seeks out stories with the potential to transform lives.

Nazanin Boniadi, a human rights activist and actress, has been named the 2023 Sydney Peace Prize laureate for her dedication to advancing women’s rights in Iran. The Prize is awarded by the City of Sydney with the support of the Sydney Peace Foundation to leading global voices promoting peace, justice and nonviolence. Past winners include Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Mary Robinson and Joseph Stiglitz.

The Lucy Firth Honours Thesis Prize is generously funded by the Lucy Firth Bequest made in 1997 and awarded to a student of the University of Sydney who has written an outstanding Honours thesis in the field of Australian Literature, and who has been impacted by extenuating circumstances during their studies.

The prize is awarded by the Chair of the Department of Australian Literature and History. The prize is to be used for tuition or other approved expenses for the next semester. It is not open to students currently receiving a postgraduate research scholarship from the University of Sydney that provides a stipend allowance. The prize is also not open to students who have previously won this prize. Nominations are due by 31 May 2020.

Article info